Commoners

Liz and I visited the New Forest recently. My family and I used to go there when we were kids and it was exactly as I remembered it.

It is kind a unique place (at least in the UK). The landscape is shaped by the fact that commoners are allowed to let Horses, Donkeys and Cattle graze there and roam freely. Horses have the right of way on the roads so its not unusual for them to be standing in the middle of the road.

Here are the same pictures as a slideshow… they look better big and also I will add more when I finally get round to more scanning.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Commoners”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    Interesting photos.

  2. paramountplaces Says:

    very nice , beautiful photos , keep it up , best of luck.

  3. motleycollection Says:

    Thanks for the compliments πŸ™‚

  4. carmenland Says:

    They’re nice pics, but are there some insane ones available, too?

  5. motleycollection Says:

    Hello Carmen, I don’t understand! Do you want insane horses or insane photographs?

  6. motleycollection Says:

    oh, now I see! You pedant, you dont actually expect me to READ what I write do you?

  7. adam Says:

    Charming pictures, I like them a lot. I like the various shots of the horse, reminds me of that corny story about people in a dark place with an elephant and they all think it is something different. What was the point of that story, anyway?

    Never mind, good to see you had such pleasant weather for your trip.

  8. motleycollection Says:

    Ha yes! This one…

    My fiancee suggested I could make one of those books where you can mix the head of one animal with the body of another πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  9. Gustaf Says:

    I really like this series, Dave. I hope you’ll be making some prints?

Leave a Reply

