Birthday Beachness (…the digital revolution reaches Dave)

Yesterday in the morning I regretfully flew back from a trip to America. The first part was on business but then I was visiting my girlfriend Liz in New York. While away I shot quite a lot of film (watch this space …) and have to get it all processed and go through the chore of scanning it all. So when I went down to North Berwick yesterday evening to have Fish and Chips on the beach for 2 friends birthdays I couldn’t face adding to the film backlog. So I took my digital camera out for the first time in ages … its the first time I have used it this year I think!

I love film but I must admit that I really enjoyed the instant feedback you get from a digital camera and tried a lot of things I might have been much more reluctant to try with a film camera in the knowledge I could try as many times as I liked and it didn’t matter if nothing came of it. Pretty obvious really but I suppose I had forgotten the good bits of digital a little bit. Anyway I like some of the pictures I took but I just wish they didn’t look so, well, digital! Also the lack of exposure latitude really annoys me sometimes even although it is good for making silhouette type pictures. The whole set is here on flickr.

Anyway here are some pictures, happy birthday Eireann and Bruce!

[Edit:] I went back down to North Berwick with Alex and Nivine and took my digital camera again so I thought I would add some more pictures to this post …

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Birthday Beachness (…the digital revolution reaches Dave)”

  1. Gustaf Says:

    I go back and forth between the Rollieflex and the D70 several times a day. I love the Rollei, but oh how I loathe scanning.

    Oh, and happy birthday Eireann!

  2. Daniel Putkowski Says:

    Interesting beach shots. For a different kind of beach, check out my Aruba photos at http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

