Guess where

This is from my Rolleiflex Automat. It really is a mess, the leatherette is falling off and the metal underneath is a bit rusty and I dont have a lencap for it and I have a tatty old canon strap on it.

As much as I would like one in better condition in a way I find it liberating that it isnt in mint condition – I have very few qualms about sticking it in my rucksack when I go out. Its also the camera that has provoked most conversation with strangers – either people wondering what it is or on one really nice occasion a pensioner stopping to reminisce about when he got one when he was a young man and how much he loved it…he really did get misty eyed about it. I couldnt say for sure but I dont think that the current crop of DSLRs will ever provoke that kind of reaction.

7 Responses to “Guess where”

  1. narziss Says:

    Some interesting images there!

    And if the title is not rhetorical, I might dare to give the answer as “Amsterdam”… hehe 😉

  2. motleycollection Says:

    thankyou narziss, very kind of you to say so.

    yeah it was kinda rhetorical ;0)

  3. Kay Says:

    about film swapping: well… actually it´s pretty easy with 120mm since it does not have the plastic cap (like 35mm). all you have to do is take the 12 pictures and send it out. the other person will just load it again. i´m not totally pleased with the results of my first experience with a slide film. some people told me it´s gonna be better using negatives cause it´s more ´forgiving´ with over exposure. other tip is doing it always at night to avoid over exposure but i´ve seen some people doing it during the day and achieving some pretty good shots, like this: http://www.lomography.com/blog/?id=807&referer=blog

  4. motleycollection Says:

    Cool lets do it.

    I have another idea too – a friend of mine once covered up half of the frame inside the camera with a bit of paper and then shot the roll of film. Then he rewound it, swapped over the bit of paper and then shot the whole roll again – he got some interesting results, they are here if you are interested:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/redlex/sets/72157600269507852/detail/

    I could shoot the left hand side and you shoot the right! His are on 35mm but there is no reason it cant be done with a holga, might be a first!

  5. Kay Says:

    i´ve seen this kind of film swap in lomohomes… i think it´s great 🙂

    you are from scotland, right? i´ve been in london this year. haven´t got to scotland 😦 it´s a shame.

    drop me a line on my email…

  6. Kay Says:

    just one more: http://www.toycamera.com/tech/half.html

  7. motleycollection Says:

    ah, I though I was being original 😦

    but they look great dont they? I will drop you an email later and we can arrange a swap!

    PS,
    Yeah I am from Edinburgh…next time you are in the UK its a must see!

Leave a Reply

